Boston Public Library Schedule

Boston Public Library’s Concerts in the Courtyard (www.bpl.org/concerts) series will run through Friday, August 31, bringing a range of free music to one of Boston’s most beautiful spaces during one-hour concerts throughout the summer. Concerts are held twice each week on Wednesdays at 6 p.m. and on Fridays at 12:30 p.m.

Wednesday concerts are presented in partnership with Berklee College of Music and sponsored by Brookline Bank. Concerts will be moved to the newly renovated Rabb Hall in the event of inclement weather.

 

June schedule:

Friday, June 15, 12:30 p.m. Folk and rock prodigy Emm Gryner has performed at Sarah McLachlan‘s Lilith Fair and sung backup for David Bowie, and Bea’s songs feature strong hooks and evoke a range of emotions.

Wednesday, June 20, 6 p.m. Brooks Robertson is a young fingerstyle guitarist who simultaneously plays bass, rhythm, and melody and merges haunting compositions, country rhythms, and jazzy harmonies with funky licks.

Friday, June 22, 12:30 p.m. Night Tree incorporates traditions from Irish, classical, Swedish, jazz, klezmer, and Afro-Cuban music.

Wednesday, June 27, 6 p.m. Safiya Leslie flavors her sounds with musical dialects from not only jazz but also her Afro-Caribbean roots.

Friday, June 29, 12:30 p.m. Formed in 2016, the Craft Ensemble is comprised of a core string quartet of Boston-based musicians: violinists Colleen Brannen and Amy Sims, violist Amelia Hollander Ames, and cellist Velleda Miragias.

 

July and August schedule:

  • Lula Wiles, Friday, July 6, 12:30 p.m.
  • Venezuelan Project, Wednesday, July 11, 6 p.m.
  • John Emil, Friday, July 13, 12:30 p.m.
  • Bonus Monday Concert: Paulina Voices, Monday, July 16, 12:30 p.m.
  • One Drop: A Bob Marley Tribute, Wednesday, July 18, 6 p.m.
  • Jah Spirit, Friday, July 20, 12:30 p.m.
  • Bonus Saturday Concert: Boston Youth Symphony Orchestras, Saturday, July 21, 12:30 p.m.
  • Jose Soto, Wednesday, July 25, 6 p.m.
  • Area 9 Quartet, Friday, July 27, 12:30 p.m.
  • Niu Raza, Wednesday, August 1, 6 p.m.
  • Properly Unprepared, Friday, August 3, 12:30 p.m.
  • Abigail Lim-Kimberg, Wednesday, August 8, 6 p.m.
  • Grupo Fantasia Quartet, Friday, August 10, 12:30 p.m.
  • Tyson Jackson, Wednesday, August 15, 6 p.m.
  • Boston Saxophone Quartet, Friday, August 17, 12:30 p.m.
  • Autumn Jones, Wednesday, August 22, 6 p.m.
  • Cold Chocolate, Friday, August 24, 12:30 p.m.
  • Mariano Escalona, Wednesday, August 29, 6 p.m.
  • Boston Lyric Opera, Friday, August 31, 12:30 p.m.